If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (503) 652-3997

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

Different levels of water damage

8/5/2022 (Permalink)

Water damage from a category 1 classification is from clean and sanitary sources, such as:

  • Water lines
  • Faucets
  • Toilet tanks
  • Drinking fountains
  • Showerheads
  • Rainwater (sometimes)

Although this water is clean, it does not come without risks. If it is not cleaned quickly, it can degrade into category 2—leading to health issues for those inhabiting the structure.

Category 2 – Grey Water Damage

Water damage from a category 2 classification is from sources that have a level of contaminants that may cause illness or discomfort if ingested. These sources include:

  • Dishwashers
  • Washing machines
  • Toilets with urine, but not feces
  • Other sources where water has been used

Category 3 – Black or Unsanitary Water Damage

Water damage from a category 3 classification, sometimes called black water, contains dangerously unsanitary contaminants. It could cause serious illness, or even death if ingested. Category 3 water damage includes water from:

  • Sewers
  • Toilets with feces
  • Rivers or streams
  • Stagnant water bodies that have become a habitat for bacterial growth

When you are dealing with water damage, immediate action is necessary,

Other News

View Recent Posts